Sea Glass by Art Davis – Preview

 

sea-glass

Check out new music from Sea Glass, the soon to be released CD from Art Davis.

http://soundcloud.com/art-davis/sets/sea-glass-preview

The title of the CD and title track, “Sea Glass” come from the strange way memory and imagination play together when you encounter an object like a piece of sea glass. You can’t help but wonder things like – What was this a part of? – Who owned it? – How did it get in the sea? – How long has it been in the sea?. On the many family summer beach vacations my wife and I love to walk the beach and collect sea shells. Inevitably we end up focusing on the more esoteric find, pieces of sea glass. So for me that memory is mixed in as well.

The first three pieces in Sea Glass Preview – Moontower Overture, Song For Kathryn, and Hawk Dance – make up a Triptych. They were written years apart and for completely different projects. All three are centered around and exemplify my life long fascination/obsession with “Sus Chords”. They also make use of common harmonic and melodic materials. “Sus Chords” are very interesting because they don’t contain the 3rd of the chord but substitute the 2nd or 4rth for that missing third. This leaves the tonality ambiguous with regard to major or minor modality. This openness to me is a huge opportunity for creativity.

Bric-a-Brac takes a chord progression that I wrote decades ago and has been sitting around in notebooks all these years and unused. It was originally conceived as a Latin Samba.  I took this progression and changed the rhythm to a kind of homage to Herbie Handcock’s landmark jazz composition, “Maiden Voyage”.

Tao is actually the very first piece of music I ever wrote and put my name in the upper right hand corner. I wrote it when I was in high school in 1972. I rearranged it for this setting using a synth choir.

Blues for Reynard is a simple A Minor blues intentionally left sparse and straight ahead.

In working with this idea of memory I came to realize that for me all of my compositions are about memory in some way. Many times it is after the compositional process is complete that I realize what the piece is about. That ephemeral quality of the creative process is one of the joys of writing music.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

